Warning Before Save If "Still Editing"; OR "Finished Editing" Button In Save Process

Sep 01 (50 days ago)
Benjamin Carlson wrote
For a while now, there's been a really irritating quirk that if you don't click away from the edit box and/or go to another slide entirely, saving the cue to the cue library doesn't ACTUALLY save all your work. It saves some of it, but it's inconsistent from the average user's point of view. It's based on MS7 tracking whether you're still editing or not and disincluding any slides "still being edited" from the save functionality. This sometimes translates to a portion of the song or can translate to most of the song, and I'm not entirely sure where the line is drawn.

I have this issue more with the stage display than the main display, but I believe it does impact both. Perhaps this is a difference in habit.

If there was either a warning that you're still editing when you try to save, you could at least go back and manually reset things so you can save ALL your work. Manually finding every text box would be a lot more work than the user ought to be responsible for, especially since many users are not technical-minded and would have no clue how to do that.

Alternatively, the save process could include a button to exit all editing instances before MS7 saves (perhaps with some listing of the instances so the user can either approve all or cancel and go back to finish something they forgot). This would streamline the process so that users don't lose work they did and wind up with a poor presentation on Sunday morning on account of the program's quirks and lack of warning messages.
Planned
1 vote
Vote
Reply
1 Answer
Avatar image
Sep 02 (49 days ago)
Ryan Zeeck agent wrote
Hey Benjamin,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about this issue. This is something that we already have in the works to be fixed.

Thanks again for your thoughts and ideas! I have passed this along to our Development Team.

-Ryan