MediaShout version 4.5 stores certain user information in a user setting file that is updated every time you close the software. That file contains things like the position of windows in use, graphics assigned to Firebox buttons, etc. Occasionally, when you close MediaShout, you will receive an error that states:
A sharing violation occurred while accessing C:\Users\Public\My Shout\V4\User Settings\MediaShout_[username].dat
Fortunately, the solution is to simply delete the file that is indicated in the error. It doesn’t save any critical information, and a new one will be created the next time you close MediaShout. Follow the path indicated (OS (C:) > Users > Public … ) and delete the "MediaShout_[username].dat" file (where [username] is the username of the current Windows account.
NOTE: This article assumes that you are using Windows Vista, 7 or 8. If you are using Windows XP the path to the file will be different, so follow the path shown in your error dialog.